Feingeisterei Gut Basthorst

Second Life in the distillery - used JUMAG DG120 is easy on the budget

A larger still, a new malt house for whisky production, more and more processes in the Feingeisterei use steam as an energy source. The good reputation led to JUMAG. The “new” steam boiler is a secondhand one – and is impressive in all respects.

Project Highlights

DG120 Quick Steam Boiler

Highly cost-effective as a result of high efficiency

Solid construction, durable even as a used device

About the Feingeisterei

Pure nature without additives or aromas and flavours – the "Feingeisterei" is an owner-operated distillery on the outskirts of Hamburg.  In addition to classic fruit distillates such as cherry, apple or Williams, the product portfolio also includes rarities such as blood orange and tonka spirits. In addition, the Feingeisterei distills the "5 Continents" gin, a rum, vodka, aquavit and grain.

"It doesn't get any better than this"

Fabian Rohrwasser, Inhaber

Challenge: Transition of the distillery to steam

The expansion of the business in 2020 added a larger still and a malt house for whisky production. All new apparatuses require steam as an energy source.

Fabian Rohrwasser, owner of the distillery: "Our performance requirements had increased and reliability was very important to us. That's why we decided to use steam as a new source of energy. The only thing we still heat with wood is our first boiler."

"Initially, our distillery system manufacturer favoured an Italian model", recalls Rohrwasser. "However, it seemed less suitable for continuous use. JUMAG has a very good reputation among experts. My personal inquiry at the Brau Beviale in Nuremberg was answered in a friendly and competent manner. At the time we decided to initially purchase a used device for budget reasons."

So why not take advantage of the design-related longevity of JUMAG steam boilers?

The solution: Used steam boiler with the best service

"JUMAG was confident that it could easily put a steam boiler into operation that had already proven itself at another location for a few years", says Fabian Rohrwasser. After over a year of experience, he reflects. Were the expectations met?

"We're actually pleasantly surprised", he says. "The steam boiler is really very solid. We also like the fact that this solution is scalable to our expected energy requirements because the feed water container and blow down are separate."

He considers his interactions with the JUMAG team to be straightforward, friendly and service-oriented: "It doesn't get any better than this." Employees appreciate the simple operation and maintenance, because they require very little time day-to-day.

So a hot tip for distilleries? Fabian Rohrwasser: "Yes, our JUMAG solution is ideal for businesses looking for a solid steam boiler with the best service."

You can count on us!

When does a JUMAG steam system pay for itself and which one suits your requirements?

Find out more about steam boilers in distilleries and breweries. Read our information about your application case!

Feingeisterei Gut Basthorst

Second Life in der Brennerei - Gebrauchter JUMAG DG120 schont das Budget

Eine größere Brennblase, eine neue Mälzerei für die Whisky-Herstellung, immer mehr Prozesse in der Feingeisterei nutzen Dampf als Energieträger. Der gute Ruf führte zu JUMAG. Der „neue“ Dampferzeuger ist ein Gebrauchter – und überzeugt in allen Punkten.

Projekt Highlights

Schnelldampferzeuger DG120

Hohe Wirtschaftlichkeit durch hohen Wirkungsgrad

Solide Bauweise, auch als Gebrauchtgerät langlebig

Über die Feingeisterei

Reine Natur ohne Zusatzstoffe und Aromen – die „Feingeisterei“ ist eine inhabergeführte Brennerei vor den Toren Hamburgs.  Zum Produktportfolio gehören neben klassischen Obstdestillaten wie Kirsch, Apfel oder Williams auch Raritäten wie Blutorangengeist oder Tonka-Geist. Zudem destilliert die Feingeisterei den „5 Continents“ Gin, einen Rum, Vodka, Aquavit und Korn.

„Besser geht das nicht“

Fabian Rohrwasser, Inhaber

Herausforderung: Umstellung der Brennerei auf Dampf

Mit der Betriebserweiterung im Jahr 2020 kamen eine größere Brennblase und eine Mälzerei für die Whisky-Herstellung hinzu. Alle neuen Apparate erfordern Dampf als Energiequelle.

Fabian Rohrwasser, Inhaber der Brennerei: „Unser Leistungsbedarf war gestiegen und Sicherheit war uns sehr wichtig. Deshalb entschieden wir uns für Dampf als neuen Energieträger. Lediglich unseren ersten Brennkessel beheizen wir noch mit Holz.“

„Zunächst favorisierte unser Brennereianlagenhersteller ein italienisches Modell“, erinnert sich Rohrwasser. „Es schien uns aber für den Dauereinsatz weniger geeignet. JUMAG hat in Fachkreisen einen sehr guten Ruf. Meine persönliche Anfrage auf der Brau Beviale in Nürnberg wurde freundlich und kompetent beantwortet. Wir hatten uns seinerzeit entschlossen, aus Budgetgründen vorerst ein gebrauchtes Gerät anzuschaffen.“

Warum also nicht die konstruktionsbedingte Langlebigkeit der JUMAG Dampferzeuger nutzen?

Die Lösung: Gebrauchter Dampferzeuger mit bestem Service

„JUMAG war sicher, auch einen Dampferzeuger der sich schon ein paar Jahre an anderem Ort bewähren durfte, unkompliziert wieder in Betrieb nehmen zu können,“ sagt Fabian Rohrwasser. Nach über einem Jahr Erfahrung zieht er Bilanz. Wurden die Erwartungen erfüllt?

„Wir sind sogar positiv überrascht“, sagt er. „Der Dampferzeuger ist wirklich sehr solide. Außerdem kommt uns sehr zupass, dass diese Lösung skalierbar für unseren zu erwartenden Energiebedarf ist, weil Speisewassergefäß und Abschlämmung separat sind.“

Die Zusammenarbeit mit dem JUMAG Team beurteilt er als unkompliziert, freundlich und serviceorientiert: „Besser geht das nicht.“ Die Mitarbeiter schätzen die einfache Bedienung und Wartung, die im Alltag nur wenig Zeit braucht.

Ein heißer Tipp also für Brennereien? Fabian Rohrwasser: „Ja, unsere JUMAG Lösung ist ideal für Betriebe, die einen soliden Dampferzeuger mit bestem Service suchen.“

Rechnen Sie mit uns!

Wann amortisiert sich eine JUMAG Dampfanlage und welche passt zu Ihren Anforderungen?

Mehr über Dampferzeuger in Brennereien und Brauereien erfahren. Lesen Sie unsere Informationen zu Ihrem Anwendungsfall!